HomeNewsEvent InformationRace ReportsAVON TYRESContact UsLinksAction Clips


Brands Hatch Historic Super Prix - 1st - 3rd July 2011


Group C attended the HSCC Super Prix at Brands Hatch at the weekend, along with a huge entry list of historic racing cars including Historic Formula One, the new E Type Challenge, HF2, Lurani Trophy plus many more.

Group C would like to thank all of the organising team at the HSCC involved with the Brands Hatch Super Prix and in particular, Grahame White, for making our attendance possible. A full weekend of sunshine ensured a large spectator attendance and it all added up to making a fantastic event with a truly great atmosphere.

Qualifying for Group C took place on a very hot Saturday afternoon, with Andy Meyrick setting the fastest time early on in the session with a 1m19.657 in his Spice SE89C.  However, mid way through qualifying Hideki Yamauchi took the pole position with a 1m19.208 in the Kubota/Yamauchi Nissan R90C, hot on their heals was Stefano Rosina in his Spice SE89.

Sunday’s race from the off was one not to be missed!  The rolling start was commended by all of the Officials as one of the best they have ever seen, and even from the pits it looked spectacular.  Thanks to a blinding opening stint from Yamauchi who was lapping in the 1m19’s, had built a lead of over 45 seconds by the time the pit window opened for the compulsory 4 minute pit stop.  With the pit stops over it was going to be a nail biting finish as Evans handed over to Berridge and Meyrick swapped from father to son.  Rosina was holding his position for 3rd place in his Spice SE89 and in the midfield Kent Abrahamson in his Nissan R90 took advantage of Steve Tandy’s spin to move up the field.  In the last few laps Berridge got to within 8 seconds of Kubota and in the process the Mercedes set the fastest lap for C1 at 1m18.3 but Kubota showed his metal and held on to his lead and secured the victory.

Andy Meyrick set an outstanding time of 1m17.9 for C2, and in fact both C1 & C2 times would have been respectable in period never mind 20 years later!

Congratulations must also go to Tommy Dreelan and Aaron Scott on their first podium in C2 and to Stefano Rosina for his first podium in C1.

Congratulations to winners of the Race in C1 - 1st Katsu Kubota and Hideki Yamauchi,

2nd Gareth Evans and Bob Berridge,

3rd Stefano Rosina.

Congratulations to winners of the Race in C2 – 1st Peter Meyrick and Andy Meyrick,

2nd Tommy Dreelan and Aaron Scott,

3rd Duncan McKay and Robin Ward.

Well done to everyone for making this such a spectacular Race!

Our commiserations must go to Jonathan Fay who suffered light damage in Qualy and was unable to repair the car in time and to Don Miles who had engine difficulties and despite tremendous efforts was not able to race.  Also to David Mercer and Nick Chester who suffered from mechanical woes during the race.

A massive thank you to all of you who attended for making Brands such a remarkable event and one of the best races we’ve seen!  I hope you all enjoyed the good weather and great racing.

Group C is definitely giving out a positive impression and we are pleased to report that we received lots of great comments over the weekend and interest from potential new members.

I have added a link to a blog from a Group C fan who attended Brands, which speaks for its self: http://folkestonejack.wordpress.com/2011/07/03/an-hour-of-group-c-nostalgia/

If you have any video footage or pictures from the weekend I would be grateful if you could send them to me please for the website.

Further to the bulletin No: 01 issued at the Brands event we will be issuing a report in due course.

Kind regards



Qualifying Times

Qualifying Lap Times

Race Results

Race Lap Times

Championship Points Table after Brands Hatch