HomeNewsEvent InformationRace ReportsAVON TYRESContact UsLinksAction Clips


Dix Mille Tours - Paul Ricard October 7 - 9

The Dix Mille Tours du Castellet is already considered THE classic car meeting of the South of France and car lovers have already noted the appointment.  For the second consecutive year, the Dix Mille Tours du Castellet was held at the High Tech Test Track at Paul Ricard with Six grids on the programme and we were blessed with glorious sunshine throughout the weekend.

On behalf of Group C I would particularly like to thank the organising team of Peter Auto, Patrick Peter, Guillaume Le Metayer and the FFSA for this fantastic event. We look forward to being a part of this event again next year.

Free Practice took place on Friday followed by two qualifying sessions on Saturday with Bob Berridge & Gareth Evans taking pole position with a best lap time of 1m46.168, followed by Stefano Rosina and Giorgio Mondini in their Spice SE89 with a 1m50.160.  Row 2 on the grid was taken by Katsu Kubota and the duo of Peter and Andy Meyrick.

Race  – Despite a ragged rolling start for Group C, Evans managed to hold on to the lead with Kubota in his Nissan R90C and Rosina chasing hard on their heals.  In C2 a battle was taking place between Meyrick and Donovan until Meyrick Jnr spun and was unable to restart the car, luckily for him this was near to the pitlane entrance and he was pushed back to the pits and able to rejoin.  On lap 10 at turn 15 Kubota lost control and contact was made with Evans in the Mercedes.  Kubota made it back to the pits but it was game over for him.  Evans managed to stay out till the pit window opened but had suffered significant damage.

Despite the earlier incident the leading duo of Berridge/Evans romped home to take the victory, followed by Harburg/Park in his Porsche 962 who took their first Group C podium, congratulations.  Mike Donovan led home the C2 class contingent in the Spice SE88C.

Fastest Laps in the Race went to:

Bob Berridge in C1 with a 1m49.715

Andy Meyrick in C2 with a 1m51.525

Congratulations to winners of the Race on Sunday in C1 –

1st  Gareth Evans and Bob Berridge

2nd Peter Harburg and Wayne Park

3rd David Mercer

Congratulations to winners of the Race on Sunday in C2 –

1st Mike Donovan

2nd Duncan McKay and Robin Ward

3rd Peter Meyrick and Andy Meyrick

Our commiserations must go to Stefano Rosina and Giorgio Mondini who had  engine trouble with only 8 minutes to go.  Eric Rickenbacher, Ferdinand De Lesseps, Henrik Lindberg, Andrew Haddon and Richard Bateman who all suffered from mechanical issues during the race on Sunday.

A massive thank you to all of you who attended the Dix Mille Tours and for your commitment and enthusiasm.




Free Practice

Qualifying Period 1

Qualifying Period 2

Race Result

Lap Chart

Championship Tables after the Paul Ricard Round