HomeNewsEvent InformationRace ReportsAVON TYRESContact UsLinksAction Clips


Silverstone Classic Race Meeting July 22 - 24

The Silverstone Classic 2011 was held last weekend at the famed 3.6 mile Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit, with over 1000 competitors racing more than 800 Classic race cars spanning the spectrum of motorsport history.  Group C was fortunate to be part of this major event and were the feature twilight race on Saturday.

Group C would like to thank all of the organising team involved in The Silverstone Classic, Goose Communications, HSCC and in particular, Nick Wigley for making our attendance possible.  There was certainly a large spectator attendance and it all added up to making a fantastic event with a truly great atmosphere.

After glorious sunshine all day on Friday, Group C was all set for Qualifying.  Just as the cars were leaving for the assembly area down came the rain for the duration of the session!  Bob Berridge took pole with a best lap time of 2m04.8s, followed by Alex Buncombe in the Silk Cut Jaguar with a 2m10.8s.  Row 2 on the grid was taken by Katsu Kubota and David Mercer.

Friday saw the magnificent Group C cars running into the evening dusk.  With headlights ablaze and brake discs glowing, the cars made a magical sight as the sun set over the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit.

Race 1 - Buncombe lead initially, Kubota taking the lead on lap 5, only for Buncombe to retake the position with eight minutes to go.  The pair swapped the lead three times in as many corners on the penultimate lap.  The win was only sealed on the final lap with Katsu Kubota taking his Nissan R90C to a narrow victory over the Jaguar of Alex Buncombe after an unforgettable spectacle.  Calum Lockie led home the C2 class contingent in the ADA with Mike Donovan, in his first race with Group C, gaining in the closing laps in his Spice SE88.

Fastest Laps in Race 1 went to:

Katsu Kubota in C1 with a 1m54.346

Calum Lockie in C2 with a 1m59.847

Congratulations to winners of Race 1 on Saturday in C1 –

1st  Katsu Kubota

2nd Alex Buncombe

3rd Gareth Evans

Congratulations to winners of Race 1 on Saturday in C2 –

1st Calum Lockie

2nd Mike Donovan

3rd Peter Meyrick

The feedback from the twilight race has been phenomenal, the grandstands were packed and the spectators loved it!  Well done to everyone for making the Races so spectacular!

Race 2 – With Berridge and Buncombe on Row 1 for the start, it was always guaranteed to shake up the order, with Buncombe and Yamamuchi all pitching into battle for the early lead.  Despite tremendous efforts from Yamamuchi and a brief lead during a spirited attack Berridge took the Mercedes C11 to victory.  Gary Pearson in his Jaguar XJR11 had an incident free race coming home in 3rd for C1.  First step on the C2 podium went to Andy Meyrick despite starting 13th on the grid.  Newcomers Mike Donovan and Adrian Watts had a sterling race, both taking podium honours, well done to you both!

Fastest Laps in Race 2 went to:

Bob Berridge in C1 with a 1m47.7

Andy Meyrick in C2 with a 1m51.5

Congratulations to winners of Race 2 on Sunday in C1 –

1st  Bob Berridge

2nd Hideki Yamamuchi

3rd Gary Pearson

Congratulations to winners of Race 2 on Sunday in C2 –

1st Andy Meyrick

2nd Mike Donovan

3rd Adrian Watts

Our commiserations must go to Richard Bateman who suffered a fuel pump issue on the formation lap in Saturday’s race.  Also to Duncan McKay who had his first DNF for some considerable time, Andrew Haddon and David Mercer who all who suffered from mechanical issues during the race on Sunday.

A massive thank you to all of you who attended the Silverstone Classic and for your commitment and enthusiasm.  Both races were action packed and a great source of excitement for the mass of supporters, some of whom just came to see the wonderful field of Group C machinery!


Article from the latest Motorsport News.


Qualifying and Race Results

Championship Points after the Silverstone Classic